Contstruction and Building Department
TOWNSHIP OF CHATHAM
BULDING AND HOUSING
11-1 UNIFORM CONSTRUCTION CODE ENFORCING AGENCY.
The purpose of this chapter is to implement the provisions of the State Uniform Construction Code Act, Chapter 217 of the Laws of 1975 (hereinafter referred to as the "Act") and regulations for the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code promulgated by the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs pursuant to the Act and appearing in Title 5, Chapter 23 of the New Jersey Administrative Code (hereinafter referred to as the "Regulations"). References to the Act and Regulations shall include any amendments and supplements hereafter made. (Ord. No. 14-76 § 1; Ord. No. 97-009; Ord. No. 2000-27 § 1)
11-1.2 Enforcing Agency Established; Qualifications.
a. There is hereby established in the Township a State Uniform Construction Code Enforcing Agency to be known as the Township Building Department, consisting of a Construction Official, BuildingSubcode Official, Plumbing Subcode Official, Electrical Subcode Official, Fire Protection Subcode Official and such other subcode officials for such additional subcodes as may be promulgated under the Act. The Construction Official shall be the Chief Administrator of the Enforcing Agency.
b. Each official position created by paragraph a. hereof shall be filled by appointment by the Township Committee of a person qualified for such position pursuant to the Act and Regulations, provided that in lieu of the appointment of any particular subcode official compliance with the subcode may be enforced through an inspection authority approved by the State of New Jersey. More than one (1) such official position may be held by the same person, provided that such person is qualified pursuant to the Act and Regulations.
c. The public shall have the right to do business with the Enforcing Agency at one (1) office location except for emergencies or unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances.
(Ord. No. 14-76 § 2; Ord. No. 97-009)
The following fees are hereby established:
a. Building Subcode Fees.
1. For new construction $.058 per cubic foot of building or structure volume, provided that the minimum fee shall be $75.00.
2. For renovations, alterations and repairs up to a value of $30,000.00, the fee shall be $29.00 per $1,000.00 of estimated work, provided that the minimum fee shall be $75.00. For renovations, alterations and repairs with a value of over $30,000.00, the fee shall be an additional $16.00 per thousand dollars for that portion over $30,000.00.
3. For additions: $.058 cents per cubic foot for the first five thousand (5,000) cubic feet of building or structure volume and $.048 cents per cubic foot for the added portion in excess of (5,000) cubic feet, provided that the minimum fee shall be $75.00.
4. For combinations of renovations and additions, the fee shall be the sum of the fees computed separately for renovations and additions.
5. For construction of a tennis court, paddle tennis court, a fee of $300.00 per facility.
6. For new construction of large volume buildings, $.036 cents per cubic foot of a building or structure or volume, provided that the minimum fee shall be $75.00.
7. The fee for a permit for the removal of a building or structure from one (1) lot to another or to a new location on the same lot shall be $20.00 per $1,000.00 of the sum of the estimated costs for moving, for new foundations and for the placement in a completed condition in a new location, provided that the minimum fee shall be $300.00.
8. Fees for the following types of projects shall be established by flat fee:
(a) Reroofing of a single-family dwelling or accessory building: $ 110.00.
(b) Reroofing of a commercial building: $300.00.
(c) Re-siding of a commercial building: $300.00.
(d) Residing of a single-family dwelling or accessory building: $110.00.
(e) For construction of an unclassified structure, including but not limited to tents (greater than 16,800 square feet in area and greater than 140 feet in any dimension), towers, sheds and temporary trailers, including issuance of a certificate of occupancy or approval: $70.00.
(f) Lead hazard abatement: administrative fee of $140.00, with an administrative fee of $28.00 for a lead abatement clearance certificate.
(g) Radon hazard abatement: $75.00 plus any applicable electrical permit fees.
(h) Asbestos hazard abatement: administrative fee of $106.00, with an administrative fee of $21.00 for certificate of occupancy. (Per N.J.A.C. 5:23-8.9).
(a) Any building or structure, except as set forth in paragraph (b) below: $400.00.
(b) Unclassified structures, oil/fuel tank removal or abandonment, pools and accessory structures: $140.00.
(c) Fees for partial demolition in anticipation of construction shall be calculated as an alteration.
10. For a permit to erect a sign:
(a) Permanent: $50.00.
(b) Temporary: $50.00.
11. Swimming pools:
(a) For aboveground pools, including the issuance of a certificate of approval: $100.00.
(b) For inground pool, including the issuance of a certificate of approval: $300.00.
(c) Public swimming pools, spas and hot tubs, except for one- or two-family residential property, electrical inspection to include issuance of certificate of compliance: $150.00 annually.
12. Application for a variation in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5.23-2.10:
(a) Use Groups R-3 and R-5: $100.00.
(b) For all other use groups: $250.00.
13. Retaining walls: $150.00.
14. Satellite antenna receiver with foundation: $500.00.
15. There shall be an additional fee of $50.00 per hour for each subcode official who reviews any amendment or change to a plan that has already been released for permit by the Department.
16. Permit update for the change of a contractor/owner: $50.00.
17. For installation of solar photovoltaic systems, the fee shall be $29.00 per $1,000.00 of the building cost for installing the footings and support structures, up to a value of $30,000.00, provided that the minimum fee shall be $75.00.
For installation of solar photovoltaic systems, the fee shall be $16.00 per $1,000.00 of the building cost for installing the footings and support structures, with a value of over $30,000.00, provided that the minimum fee shall be $75.00.
b. Plumbing Subcode Fees.
1. For projects involving between plumbing fixtures, devices or plumbing stacks: $22.00 per item.
2. The following fees shall be based on a “per unit” basis.
(a) In use groups R-3 and R-5 the fee for each of each new or replacement solid fuel burning or fuel fired appliance, gas fireplace or gas appliance, fuel oil piping, gas piping, boiler, whirlpool, furnace or hot water heater, HVAC unit, sewer pump, septic pump, sump pump, in a new or existing residential building, the fee shall be $90.00 per appliance.
(b) For the installation of each new or replacement solid fuel burning or fuel fired appliance, gas fireplace or gas appliance, fuel oil piping, furnace, or hot water heater in a new or existing commercial building: $90.00 per appliance.
(c) Grease traps, oil separators, refrigeration units service connections, backflow preventers equipped with test ports (double check valve assembly, reduces pressure zone and pressure vacuum breaker backflow preventers), steam boilers, hot water boilers (excluding those for domestic water heating), HVAC units, active solar systems, sewer pumps and interceptors in all use groups except R-3 and R-5: $95.00 per item.
(d) Radiant floor heat: $50.00. Water utility connection, sewer utility connection, septic abandonment: $95.00.
c. Electrical Subcode Fees.
1. Receptacles and fixtures, including, without limitation, lighting outlets, wall switches, fluorescent fixtures, convenience receptacles, smoke and heat detectors or similar fixtures, communication points and motors or devices of 1 hp or 1 kW or less:
(a) Receptacles and fixtures: $65.00.
(b) Each increment of 25 additional items: $25.00.
2. All motors (except for plug-in appliances), including, without limitation, control equipment, transformers, generators, AC units and all heating, cooking or other devices consuming or generating electrical current:
(a) Each motor or electrical device greater than 1 hp and less than or equal to 10 hp; and for transformers and generators greater than 1 kW and less than or equal to 10 kW: $22.00.
(b) Each motor or electrical device greater than 10 hp and less than or equal to 50 hp; for each service panel, service entrance or subpanel less than or equal to 200 amperes; and for all transformers and generators greater than 10 kW and less than or equal to 45 kW: $65.00.
(c) Each motor or electrical device greater than 50 hp and less than or equal to 100 hp; for each service panel, service entrance or sub panel greater than 200 amperes and less than or equal to 1,000 amperes; and for transformers and generators greater than 45 kW and less than or equal to 112.5 kW: $135.00.
(d) Each motor or electrical device greater than 100 hp; for each service panel, service entrance or sub panel greater than 1,000 amperes, and for each transformer or generator greater than 112.5 kW: $665.00.
3. For solar photovoltaic systems, the fee shall be based on the designated kilowatt rating of the solar photovoltaic system as follows:
One to 50 kW, the fee shall be $150.00.
Greater than 50 kW to 100 kW, the fee shall be $250.00.
Greater than 100 kW, the fee shall be $576.00.
d. Fire Subcode Fees.
1. For the installation of sprinklers, the fee shall be based upon the number of sprinkler heads being installed:
|1-20 heads||$ 95.00|
2. For the installation of standpipes per standpipe: $320.00.
3. For the installation of each solid fuel burning or fuel fired appliance and gas fireplace (new or replacement) in a new or existing residential building, the fee shall be $65.00 per appliance, provided that there is no fee for hot water heater replacement.
4. For the installation of each solid fuel burning or fuel fired appliance and gas fireplace (new or replacement) in a new or existing commercial building, the fee shall be $150.00 per appliance, provided that the fee for hot water heater replacement shall be $65.00.
5. For the installation of underground/aboveground tanks in residential buildings, the fee shall be $140.00.
6. Fuel Tanks:
(a) For the abandonment/removal of fuel tanks, in existing commercial occupancies:
500 – 2,000 gal. capacity: $140.00.
2,001 gal. capacity and up: $400.00.
(b) For the installation of oil or gas aboveground 500 gal. capacity tanks, in existing/new commercial occupancies: $225.00.
7. For the installation of a listed chimney lining system or reconstruction of a chimney, the fee shall be a minimum fee of $30.00, unless the installation occurs at time of heating appliance replacement for which the fee shall be $15.00.
8. For smoke detectors or heat detectors, the fee shall be based upon the number of devices being installed.
1 - 20 smoke detectors $ 75.00
21 - 50 $200.00
51 - over $300.00
9. For the installation of commercial kitchen hood and exhaust systems: $150.00.
10. For the installation of special fire suppression systems, wet-chemical, dry chemical, Halon replacement: $150.00.
11. In addition to the fees in 1 through 10 above, and 12 below, for the Use Groups A, E, M, S, F, B, H, I, R2 and attached R3 dwellings, the fire protection subcode fee shall be ten (10%) percent of the building subcode fee.
12. Supervisory and signaling devices: $25.00 each.
e. The fee for the construction permit shall be the sum of the subcode fees listed, provided that the minimum permit fee for a basic construction permit for any or all of electrical, plumbing or fire protection work shall be $75.00.
f. The fee for plan review shall be twenty (20%) percent of the amount to be charged for the construction permit.
g. The fee for a certificate of occupancy shall be as follows:
1. New residential dwelling use: $300.00.
2. Residential use - condominium/townhouse: $200.00.
3. Addition to existing residential use: $85.00.
4. New commercial, industrial or apartment use: $400.00.
5. Addition to existing commercial (4A), industrial (4B) or apartment (4C) use: $200.00.
6. Continued certificate of occupancy (N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.23(e)): $200.
7. Clearance for lead abatement: $28.00.
8. Clearance for asbestos removal: $21.00.
9. First issuance and the renewal of a temporary certificate of occupancy: $30.00, except that there shall be no fee for the first issuance of the temporary certificate of occupancy provided the certificate of occupancy fee is paid at the time.
h. Miscellaneous Fees.
1. Zoning permit: $75.00.
2. Permit holders requesting special inspections from any subcode official or inspector at other than posted scheduled days or times must pay $75.00 per hour with a three (3) hour minimum. Special inspections may only be scheduled with the consent of each individual inspector or subcode official required. Inspectors and/or subcode officials may refuse to perform special inspections.
3. Replacement inspectors and/or subcode officials while the regular Township inspector and/or sub-code official is on vacation, sick or personal leave: $150.00 per day.
4. To provide for the training, certification and technical support required by the Unified Construction Code Act and the Regulations, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.19, the Enforcing Agency shall collect, in addition to the fees specified above, a surcharge fee to be based on the volume of the new construction or addition and/or the estimated value of the construction, alteration or repair or a combination of the two as set forth, except as specified in N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.19(b) 1-5.
5. Construction Records Clearance Certificate - $40.00.
i. Any fees payable pursuant to this section may be rounded to the nearest whole dollar.