
Q: When are property tax bills mailed and when are they due? 

A: Regular property tax bills are mailed once a year in September and contain four quarterly 
stubs.  An estimated tax bill is mailed in June for the August quarter only.  Taxes are due 
February 1, May 1, August 1, and November 1.  The Township grants a 10- day grace period. 
Note: Postmarks are not accepted and payments are posted the date they are received.  Post-
dated checks are not accepted.     
 

Q: How can I pay my tax and sewer bill? 

A: Tax and sewer payments can be made in person, online, through the mail, or via ACH 
withdrawal.  You can pay online via an eft from your checking account or with a credit/debit card.  
A convenience fee is added to all sewer credit/debit card transactions.  

Q: What deductions are available to Chatham Township residents? 

A: Veteran/Widow of a veteran deduction-must be an honorably discharged veteran from a 
specified time frame and a New Jersey resident. For a veteran deduction, proof of discharge will 
be needed. For a widow of a veteran, included with the above, a copy of the marriage and death 
certificate will be needed to accompany the application. 

Senior deduction is for residents 65 years of age or older as of October 1 of the pretax year, living 
in the residence they wish to claim, and their income does not exceed $10,000 a year, excluding 
some or all of their social security or certain pensions. Applications for either deduction can be 
picked up at the Collector's office. 

Q: What is the interest rate penalty for delinquent taxes? 

A: Interest accrues on any unpaid taxes due after the tenth day of each billing quarter at a rate of 
8% for the first $1,500 due and 18% on all balances above the $1,500 threshold on a per diem basis. 

A penalty of 6% will be charged on any delinquency in excess of $10,000 if not paid by the end of 
the fiscal year. Any municipal lien remaining unpaid on the eleventh month of the current fiscal 
year is subject to Tax Sale at any time thereafter (Ch.99, P.L. 1997) 

Failure to receive a tax bill does not exempt you from paying taxes or delinquent interest on taxes.   

Q:  Can my interest be waived? 

A: As a statutory officer of the State of New Jersey, the Tax Collector is obliged to follow all State 
Statutes regarding property tax collection, including billing, due dates, interest on delinquent tax 
payments, reporting and tax sale procedures. The Tax Collector does not have statutory authority 
to reduce a tax bill or waive interest charges under any circumstances. 

 


